Friend of the Education Industry

The “Friend of the Education Industry” Award


The “Friend of the Education Industry” Award is EIA’s highest and most prestigious honor, presented annually to the individual who, in the view of the EIA Board of Directors, fosters and demonstrates extraordinary vision, entrepreneurship, a dedication to quality, and the spirit of public-private partnership in advancing education reform.


Since 2005, EIA each year has recognized an individual whose leadership and achievements have also contributed to the development, growth and success of the education industry in its service to students, families, schools and teachers.


Conceived of and sponsored by noted education entrepreneur and author Michael R. Sandler, the EIA “Friend of the Education Industry” Award has been bestowed on these noteworthy education leaders:


2013     David Andrews, Ph.D., Dean, Johns Hopkins University School of Education


2012     Christopher Whittle, CEO, Avenues: The World School and founder, Edison Learning


2011     Jeanne Allen, Founder and President, Center for Education Reform


2010     Toru Kumon, Founder, Kumon Math & Reading Centers


2009     Margaret Spellings, Former U.S. Secretary of Education


2008     Howard “Buck” McKeon, Former Ranking Member, U.S. House Committee

              on Education & Labor


2007     Guilbert Hentschke, Ph.D., Professor, University of Southern California


2006     David Kearns, former Chairman & CEO, Xerox Corporation (award presented by U.S. Senator - and former U.S. Secretary of Education - Lamar Alexander)


2005     George Miller, Former Chairman and Current Ranking Member, U.S. House Committee on Education and Labor